What Can I Eat?

What can I eat?

Many foods are naturally gluten-free, such as unprocessed fruit, vegetables, milk, eggs, rice, fish and meat (except sausage meat).

When cooking, breadcrumbs should not be used and do not dust meat, fish or poultry with flour. Sauces and gravies that are thickened with flour or starch containing gluten, should be avoided. Wheat products such as wheat flour, wheat bran, noodles, spaghetti, macaroni and ravioli, should also be avoided.

The following are gluten-free products that can be used as substitutes for some of the foods above:

Ground rice, Rice flour, Corn flour, Maize flour, Potato flour, Soya flour, Arrowroot, Rice, Sago, Tapioca, Maize, Buckwheat, Millet, Amaranth

Read food labels carefully and do not use anything that contains the following grains:

Wheat, Rye, Barley, Malt ,Oats.

But I have seen food Labelled 'Wheat Starch * Can I eat eat it ? answer

Food ingredients to definitely avoid

Wheat: grain containing high levels of gluten.
Bulgar: soaked and dried wheat.
Durum: a type of wheat.
Strong flour, bread flour, brown flour, wholemeal flour, granary flour: all made from wheat.
Oats: contains some protein similar to wheat gluten but may not cause problems for all coeliacs. Best avoided.
Barley: contains some protein similar to wheat gluten.
Rye: contains some protein similar to wheat gluten.
Triticale: a hybrid wheat contains some protein similar to wheat gluten.
Spelt: a primitive wheat, contains some protein similar to wheat gluten.
Semolina: made from wheat.
Couscous: made from wheat.
Pasta, macaroni, spaghetti: made from wheat.
Baking powder: may contain wheat flour.
Stock cubes: may contain wheat flour.
Mustard powder: may contain wheat flour.
Soy sauce: this is normally soya beans fermented with wheat flour. Check the food list for brands that do not contain wheat flour.
Suet in packets: may contain wheat flour to stop the suet sticking together.

The following terms found in food labels may mean that there is gluten in the product.

Hydrolysed Vegetable Protein (HVP), unless made from soy or corn Flour or Cereal products, unless made with pure rice flour, corn flour, potato flour, or soy flour
Vegetable Protein unless made from soy or corn
Malt or Malt Flavouring unless derived from corn
Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch unless arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, waxy maize, or maize is used
Vegetable Gum unless vegetable gums are carob bean gum, locust bean gum, cellulose gum, guar gum, gum Arabic, gum aracia, gum tragacanth, xanthan gum, or vegetable starch
Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids unless you know they do not contain wheat
Distilled White Vinegar is made from grains and may contain gluten. Many commercially prepared condiments are prepared with distilled white vinegar and may contain very small amounts of gluten.

Any of the following words on food labels usually means that a grain containing gluten has been used

‘stabiliser, starch, flavouring, emulsifier, hydrolysed, plant protein ‘

See the 'Quick Food Guide' Here

There are now several companies and supermarkets that produce gluten-free products, Check our ‘Manufacturers and Supermarkets pages

Coeliac Help Book Store

Please come back as we look forward to helping you

 

Search The Web

Custom Search

Adverts : Help this site when you buy
Adverts : Help this site when you buy!
Coeliac Help